For the love of

Snowboarding.
Adrenaline.
Being outside.
Eating a mouthful or two of snow while racing down the mountain on…ahem, Gumdrop Lane.

I snowboard and I love it. This past week I was fortunate enough to head towards Michigan with Ben to enjoy several days of the shredding the gnar pow pow ka pow!

Too much? Yeah probably, but it was great. I love the wind so fast-paced things like motorcycles, road bikes, snowboards, etc really get me going. I spent a lot of time going up the South Peak chairlift where I snapped this photo at Caberfae Peaks. Then, I’d be flying down the small mountain (can you even say that word in the Midwest or are they all just hills?) on my board, carving and even hitting a few jumps (landed about 50% of the time).

My legs and core got a definite work out even though I took a break from running those days. (I’m afraid so did my neck and the back of my head after that terrific fall on the Gumdrop run.) It’s probably a good thing that there isn’t a ski mountain too close by otherwise I’d always be using boarding as an excuse to skip a lot of things.

The Winter X Games out in Aspen were on TV this weekend and after visiting Michigan I couldn’t help but declare out loud that that was my new dream…to be a pro-snowboarder. After the PCT, maybe going back to school, and moving out west, of course.

Leave a comment